Embark on a Sea of Thieves Journey for Real Treasure with The Quest for the Golden Bananas

Article by · March 10, 2018 ·

Starting Monday, March 19, we’re kicking off a global digital treasure hunt to win real UK Hallmarked 18-carat golden bananas. Crew up with up to three friends to crack cryptic clues, follow the trail and find the treasure. We won’t be taking it easy on you though, these challenges will test the mettle of the most capable pirates!

Pirates who tuned in for the first excellent episode of Inside Xbox this weekend already caught a glimpse of the very special treasure that will come to the winners of The Quest – a set of real gold bananas.

That’s right, London’s famous Smith & Harris Goldsmiths has created four golden bananas, crafted to replicate the health source in Sea of Thieves. The bananas are valued at £20,000* per banana – a loot worthy of even the most discerning of treasure hunters.

The Quest kicks off with a riddle being released at 12:00 AM PT / 08:00 GMT / 19:00 AEDT, Monday, March 19 and continues over the course of three days as you and your crew attempt to solve a total of 15 riddles. On Wednesday, March 21 at 13:00 PT / 21:00 GMT / 07:00 AEDT (Thursday, March 22), participants from eligible countries** will be able to input the answers to those 15 riddles at xbox.com/thebananaquest. Teams will have seven hours to submit their answers.

The first crew from each country to answer the riddles correctly will move onto the semi-finals on March 22 for one last riddle. Throughout The Quest, participants will also have plenty of opportunities to win instant prizes since the golden bananas will be quite elusive.

The riddles for The Quest will be scattered online and across several real-life locations in Key West, Florida; London, United Kingdom; Berlin, Germany; Sydney, Australia; Paris, France; and Victoria, Canada. Should you find yourself marooned elsewhere, these clues will also be scattered digitally as well.

To enter the competition, visit xbox.com/thebananaquest for more details on contest rules, how to play and to register your crew. That website will also be your best place to view the riddles as they are released, but don’t forget to keep an eye on Xbox, Rare and local social channels as well.

We couldn’t be more excited to be launching Sea of Thieves exclusively on March 20 on Xbox One, Xbox Game Pass and Windows 10, and what better way to get in the pirate’s mindset than with The Quest.

The game is available for pre-order now and will also be included with Xbox Game Pass on March 20. You can stay tuned on the latest Sea of Thieves news at SeaOfThieves.com.

* Based on the National Association of Jewellers, Institute of Registered Valuers Principles of good practice for valuers.
**Participating countries are USA, Canada, UK, France, Germany and Australia.

See the rest of the story on Xbox Wire

Related:
Next Week on Xbox: New Games for March 12 – 18
Darwin Project Available Now via Xbox Game Preview
This Week on Xbox: March 9, 2018

Source:: Xbox Wire


    Leave a comment